Conversations about Love

Everyone says love hurts, but that is not true. Loneliness hurts. Rejection hurts. Losing someone hurts. Envy hurts. Everyone gets these things confused with love, but in reality love is the only thing in this world that covers up all the pain and makes someone feel wonderful again. Love is the only thing that does not hurt.

– Mesa Selimovic

Conversation 1:

“I don’t know what love means anymore, but I think that I love you. I know that this isn’t the best time to say this, but I have been thinking about it for a while and have wanted to say this more than once!”

“Well, thank you. I am flattered. And to be honest, a little surprised. It’s been a while since I have had this conversation with anyone… Of course, I tell my nieces and nephews that I love them, but it’s been some time since I said it to anyone else…”

“I’m sorry, I don’t mean to put you on the spot. I don’t really expect you to say anything, I just had to tell you how I feel.”

“I do like you… A lot.. I also have to say that you are courageous for thinking about love when there’s so much uncertainty in life.”

“Life is always going to be unpredictable, don’t you think? The fact that I’ve known you only briefly or that I will be moving from here soon does not change how I feel for you. It’s not everyday that you meet someone you feel so strongly for, and it’s important to me that you know how I feel.”

Conversation 2:

“Did he say that he loved you?”

“No, he didn’t. I knew that he wouldn’t, even before I told him how I felt.”

“Oh did you! And you still told him?”

“Well, it didn’t change how I felt about him. I loved him irrespective of whether he loved me back or not. Secondly, I feel that when you love someone, why not share how much they mean to you. Don’t you think that there’s already too much hatred in the world and we all need more love and kindness… Yes, even romantic love!”

Conversation 3:

“I told him that I loved him. I was telling a friend about this and he was surprised that I did, when I already knew that he wouldn’t say it back.”

“What did he say when you told him that you loved him?”

“He said that he liked me a lot, always. I told him that I didn’t expect him to say it back, but some part of me craved to hear that he loved me.”

“I think that was his way of saying he loved you. I think when someone tells you they really like you, what they actually feel is love. People are scared of saying that they love someone. I have never told someone I love them unless they say it first.”

“Wow! Really?”

“Yeah I have said that I have liked someone, but not that I have loved them.”

I have been thinking about these conversation from the last few months. I think that we live in a crazy world. Most people are struggling and crave for kindness and empathy, acceptance from people who matter, warmth and companionship.. What is love, if not these things? Why are people scared of love and vulnerability?

What does love mean to you? Do you tell people that you love them, irrespective of the consequences?

Song on my mind – Moh moh ke dhaage

This entry was posted in love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conversations about Love

  1. Schweta says:

    I think I have mostly been the person to say it first. I feel that in that moment it needed to be said although in retrospect some people didn’t deserve it. 😊

    • kinmin says:

      I have been in both situations!
      Maybe you wouldn’t have found that those people didn’t deserve it if you never told them, and then wondered about the what if…?

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

