Days of Gratitude – Sep 25 & 26

I am thankful for:

The warm weather on Thursday. September is almost over and I’m thankful for every warm and sunny day now, because it will soon be winter.

In conversations with my therapist, it was interesting to analyze my decision making style and how my gut feelings try to get heard amidst all the logical arguments.

The Bollywood and bhangra dance/exercise class on Thursday evening. I wasn’t really impressed with the instructor, but I had some fun dancing and it was a decent workout!

The walk with S (in my lab) on Friday afternoon. It was another warm day, and I really enjoyed our conversations and the walk! We were talking about AID and what kind of projects we support, and a women’s shelter that her church group supports for victims of violence. I was quite impressed with all the aspects they cover to empower these women and set them on an independent path. We also talked about judgment, race, career, etc. S and I have gone on a few such walks this summer, and I have loved talking to her. Our favorite spot is the railway track behind our lab building. Here’s a picture I clicked the first time we walked here!
image

Picking up my race bib on Friday evening after lab. I walked around the expo and enjoyed the stuff on display, and tried some delicious energy bars. I bought delicious Mediterranean pasta at the expo that I ate for dinner after coming home!

In downtown, I saw these leaves and found them very fascinating!

image

As I was walking to the bus stop, I noticed these stairs going up to a park. I’ve crossed this place several times, but had never noticed it before. I wondered if this park is new or if I’ve always been in such a rush that I never noticed it! So, this time, I decided to take the stairs and see the park. It’s a cute little park and there were a few people there. I saw a couple eating dinner, a guy reading a book, and an old lady and her (possibly) granddaughter sitting on a bench! Just being present in that moment and space made me feel happy! I was carrying a heavy backpack and was very tired, so decided to leave soon after! Here are a few pictures from the park..

The stairs and fountain leading to the park..
image

image

image

After coming home, I checked and the park is quite old but was recently renovated. So maybe it was closed and that’s why I didn’t notice it earlier. This park has been built on a garage, isn’t that cool?

As I was waiting for the bus, I clicked a picture of this clock that I’ve always liked! I was also thankful that the bus came soon because I was really tired!
image

The movie I watched on Friday night. It was called ‘Raat Gayi, Baat Gayi‘ and was an interesting take on long-term relationships, marriage, and infidelity. I would recommend watching this movie when you’re in the mood!

I guess that’s about it! I’m in a happy mood, and I love it!
I have decided to make September my ‘Days of Gratitude‘ month. I will be posting everyday about something that I am thankful for in that day. I want to do this as a reminder to myself to be thankful for what I have, and also to develop a habit of mindfulness and self-reflection.

This entry was posted in Days of Gratitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Days of Gratitude – Sep 25 & 26

  1. Monkey Mind says:

    That railway track picture is post card perfect! Would love to walk around an area like that! 🙂

    A reader request Kinmin- Please do a round up post of your gratitude month and how you think it has altered your perspective?

  2. Pingback: Days of Gratitude – Sep 29 & 30 | Sunshine and Rainbows!

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

