Days of Gratitude – Sep 23

I am thankful for:

An hour of writing at home today morning. My lab is outside campus, so I try to plan things so that I don’t have to do a lot of back and forth. Since I started physical therapy this morning and the appointment was at 11, I decided to work at home for an hour. I’ve been struggling with writing my first publication and after procrastinating for several weeks, I’m now trying to write in small chunks of time and just write whatever comes to mind. The first draft will be crappy, but it might be easier to edit this rather than continue to procrastinate and not write at all. So hopefully, I will soon have a first draft that I can start editing.

I started  physical therapy for my neck. The therapist is an intern, so its a new experience, but she seemed to know what she’s doing. She was able to identify the tight muscles and massaged them a bit. Regular sessions will hopefully reduce my frequency of migraines.

I went to a versatile PhD happy hour today evening. Thankfully, my friend J text me about it this morning, and that motivated me to go. VPhD is basically a group which helps people explore alternative non-academic career options after PhD. Even though I’m not eligible for a majority of opportunities because of my visa status, it was still a good experience. I did bring up the immigration question, and got some good feedback. It was also interesting to meet all these smart and driven people who are choosing alternative careers and charting their own path.

I guess that’s it for today. See you tomorrow!

I have decided to make September my ‘Days of Gratitude‘ month. I will be posting everyday about something that I am thankful for in that day. I want to do this as a reminder to myself to be thankful for what I have, and also to develop a habit of mindfulness and self-reflection.

This entry was posted in Days of Gratitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

