Days of Gratitude – Sep 15 &16

Well I don’t have a reason for not posting on Monday. I had a very long day, and was just tired and lazy.. So anyway, here’s what I am thankful for in the last couple of days:

This Monday morning wasn’t so bad, I got to lab in time and had a very busy and productive day!

On Monday afternoon, I finally pushed myself to start working on the paper again. I’m trying to write the first draft of my first manuscript, and have been procrastinating big time. I’ve also been feeling very anxious about it, and have made a very big deal about it in my head. So that’s making it harder to write. But I wrote a little bit yesterday in between experiments, and it wasn’t too bad. At least, I’m getting started! I’m also scared about whether we’ll actually submit this paper, and how things will pan out. But I’m trying not to worry too much, and do what I can!

A conversation with my friend R. Before AID meeting on Monday evening, we were talking about the book ‘The Catcher in the Rye’. I recently read half of it and found it rather depressing. Maybe because I was feeling lonely over that long weekend. In any case, R found the book humorous in the way the narrator’s mind is all over the place. He found the thought process very amusing, and reminded him of the time when we were kids. I told him that I still think the same way, jumping from one thing to another! He then said he is the same, but was just embarrassed to say it! It made me wonder, are we all the same people deep inside? What do you think? Have you read The Catcher in the Rye? What did you think about it?

Finishing Tiramisu on Monday night! Now don’t get me wrong, I love Tiramisu, it’s my favorite dessert! I got it for lunch on Saturday, but there was quite some left over that I ate over the weekend! I didn’t want it to go bad, so I had to eat more and finish it, which is not good for my health. So I’m glad I enjoyed it and now its over! And that brings up another question, in this situation, am I treating my body like a dustbin? Because I’m choosing to eat food so that it doesn’t go bad and I don’t have to throw it away.

Tuesday was also very busy and productive in lab, and I have a funny story to share! For some experiments, I have to develop Xray films in a dark room and have waiting times. I was all alone and listening to music on my phone, and then I thought I’ll do some shoulder and neck exercises to utilize time! Eventually, I started doing zumba steps and then danced to a song! It was a lot of fun, and also hilarious that I was dancing with gloves in a dark room!!

A relatively long conversation with mom. It was about mundane stuff, but just felt good to talk to her after a long and busy day. I miss her!

An hour of solitude tonight. It had been a few days since I just sat down and read stuff on my laptop, and it was strangely relaxing to be able to do that. I also like that the lamp by my bed has a nice relaxing white light. I didn’t want to buy a new lamp,so just fixed an old floor lamp over the weekend. I turned it on for the first time tonight, and liked it!

On this note, I should sleep now. It’s pretty late and I have a busy day tomorrow!

I have decided to make September my ‘Days of Gratitude‘ month. I will be posting everyday about something that I am thankful for in that day. I want to do this as a reminder to myself to be thankful for what I have, and also to develop a habit of mindfulness and self-reflection.

This entry was posted in Days of Gratitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

