Days of Gratitude – Sep 11 & 12

So the last two days have been crazy and unexpected. I went to the doctor on Thursday afternoon for acute neck pain that I’ve been having for a month and she prescribed physical therapy and some medicines. I’ve also been having pain in the upper and mid back and lower back. They did an Xray of the cervical spine (neck). On Thursday evening, I received a call from the radiologist that they see a possible injury in my cervical spine and that I should get an Xray or CTscan done right away to be sure. He asked me to go into the emergency for this, and to say that I was scared from this call is an understatement. I’ve never been to the ER for my health complications, and the uncertainty of the whole situation made me feel very anxious. I just wanted to tell my mum and have her here with me in that moment. Anyway, we went to the ER, and the CTscan was fine and there was no injury. They do see signs of disk degeneration and asked me to follow up with my doctor and maybe get an MRI done. I called my doctor’s office on Friday and she said I should just proceed with the physical therapy and medication, and we can consider MRI if it doesn’t get better. So with all this happening in the last two days, I am thankful for:

On Thursday morning, I read this awesome post on Comfy’s blog that made me smile! I’m not a ‘kids person’, but her bugz and buzz are so adorable and comfy is such a good writer that I fall in love with her kids every time she writes about them!

Being able to go into ER at night rather than having to deal with all the anxiety and wait till next morning. I have a good insurance policy, so I didn’t have to worry about not being able to afford this.

AB’s presence and support. We have been through so much and I’ve often talked about the relationship here. But in times like these, when I’m so far away from family, I can’t imagine what it would be like to be all alone.

No major injuries. Even though I’m still in pain, I know that it’s not as bad as it can be. And I can get medical treatment to make it a little better.

A short trip to the ER. Sometimes, visits to the ER can take very long, depending on how busy they are. But we were able to leave within 2 hours. And the doctors were very supportive.

The strength to not tell anyone in my family about it. My parents and sis2 are in India, and sis1 had gone on vacation to Switzerland. So I didn’t want to tell anyone because I know that they would get very worried. I’m still trying to convince myself that nothing has changed in the last two days – that my neck and back are the same as they were and I shouldn’t be thinking about it. But somehow, I’m more worried.

I told my thesis advisor on Friday about the whole incident, and that I will have to start physical therapy and will be in and out of lab for a few weeks. He was very concerned and supportive of the whole situation. He shared his own story about back issues and what he does to make it better. I have some issues with him about other things, but in times like these, I realize that I’m lucky to have him as my advisor. It’s a great relief that he’s so understanding and supportive.

Except for Friday, this week was quite productive in lab. I’m hoping to keep up the momentum.

On Friday, I came home and took almost a 3 hour nap in the evening. I hadn’t gotten enough sleep in the last 2-3 days and the stress from this situation made me feel all the more exhausted.

I guess that’s it for now. I plan to rest this weekend! See you tomorrow, and have a great weekend!

I have decided to make September my ‘Days of Gratitude‘ month. I will be posting everyday about something that I am thankful for in that day. I want to do this as a reminder to myself to be thankful for what I have, and also to develop a habit of mindfulness and self-reflection.

This entry was posted in Days of Gratitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Days of Gratitude – Sep 11 & 12

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I hope you get well soon, I know how it’s to have back pain.

  2. Oh that’s scary. Take care Kinmin. I miss my mom every time my health gets upset.
    Btw I have been following your days of gratitude this month. It’s a great idea to list it down daily.

    • kinmin says:

      Thank you avada kedavra, and welcome to my space! I love your name by the way! 🙂 yeah I terribly miss mom’s comforting presence when I’m sick, it’s one of the downsides of living so far away from hone!

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

