Days of Gratitude – Sep 7

Today was a fabulous day. I had an awesome time, and I’m thankful for so many things.

  • I woke up without an alarm and in no rush, and made a nice omelet for breakfast. AB made delicious cold coffee and we ate breakfast together!
  • It was a beautiful sunny day and I ignored the doubtful inner voice and got dressed to go for the hike I had signed up for on meetup.
  • We hiked for 4 miles!! We hiked through the park on some very narrow and muddy trails, and it was a fun yet challenging hike! Though it did get tiring towards the end, it was still so much fun. It felt so good to be close to nature and enjoy sunlight filtering through the trees, the play of light and shade in the forest, the calming sound of creeks of water, the beautiful flowers scattered around, and some fallen crisp leaves signaling the arrival of Fall. I clicked a few pictures, but focused more on enjoying the moments.
  • I talked to a few new people, and met one awesome woman! I could connect with her so well, and we were talking for most part of the hike!!
    Here are a few pictures from the hike:
image

Just getting started! Schenley Park, Pittsburgh, Sep 2014

image

Schenley Park, Pittsburgh; Sep 2014

image

Walking on crunchy leaves!! Schenley Park, Pittsburgh; Sep 2014

image

View from above the bridge! Schenley Park, Pittsburgh; Sep 2014

After coming home, I was just tending to sore muscles since I’m not used to this level of physical exercise. But I would definitely love to do something like this again, and on a regular basis!

I have decided to make September my ‘Days of Gratitude‘ month. I will be posting everyday about something that I am thankful for in that day. I want to do this as a reminder to myself to be thankful for what I have, and also to develop a habit of mindfulness and self-reflection.

This entry was posted in Days of Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days of Gratitude – Sep 7

  1. Love this post. This sort of hike seems like fun. I might need to try something like that.

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

