Days of Gratitude – Sep 6

This is harder than I expected. When I started, I thought how hard can it be to find something to be thankful for everyday. As it turns out, quite a bit! Anyway, let’s see how this goes… Today, I am thankful for:

Waking up without an alarm around 10 in the morning, and not having to rush to lab.
A relaxed lunch in the patio after finishing lab work for the day.
Finally finding a shower curtain I like for my new apartment!
Adorable hooks that I bought from IKEA!

I think that’s about it. The day was very tiring and I’m exhausted! I basically went to lab, then went shopping for some stuff, then came home and put away the groceries and other things, washed lots of dishes and read pending emails etc. So I didn’t get a chance to relax and that’s what I’d like to do on Sunday!

Summer is almost over and I feel like I didn’t really get a chance to enjoy it this year. For the last week or so, I’ve been trying. Sadly, I have noticed that I am unable to sit and relax and just be! I need to be doing something – watching TV, reading on the phone, reading a book, or something else! I would like to be able to just sit down and do nothing. It’s not that I don’t self reflect. I do, but that happens when I’m doing other things. In fact, there was a recent study where they found that people prefer to get a mild electric shock to do something rather than sit alone for 15 mins. Isn’t it sad that we, as human beings, are so used to being in a rush and always doing something, that we have forgotten to just sit and do nothing. Personally, I want to change this. I want to get comfortable with just being with myself, with solitude! What about you? Have you noticed something like this too? Can you sit by yourself for a half hour and do nothing?

I have decided to make September my ‘Days of Gratitude‘ month. I will be posting everyday about something that I am thankful for in that day. I want to do this as a reminder to myself to be thankful for what I have, and also to develop a habit of mindfulness and self-reflection.

This entry was posted in Days of Gratitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days of Gratitude – Sep 6

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Last february I did an instagram challenge taking a photo each day of something I was grateful for. It went very well, good luck with yours.

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

