Days of Gratitude – Sep 1

Sunflowers in Pittsburgh; September 2014

Sunflowers in Pittsburgh; September 2014

I have decided to make September my ‘Days of Gratitude‘ month. Starting today, I will be posting everyday about something that I am thankful for in that day. I want to do this as a reminder to myself to be thankful for what I have, and also to develop a habit of mindfulness and self-reflection. When I did the January blogathon challenge, I had realized that writing actually helped me focus in the moment and was almost therapeutic. So, let’s see how this month goes. Wish me luck, and join me in the challenge if you feel like it!

September 1: I am thankful for

  • Forcing myself to go for a short run in the evening, and enjoying the awesome breeze. These are the last few weeks of warm weather, and are all the more precious! I have also been feeling more energetic since the run!
  • Talking to one of my favorite aunts, and sis2 on the phone today morning. I feel like I am drifting away from family, and it was nice to catch up with them.
  • A beautiful walk with a friend D and her sister yesterday afternoon, and enjoying the light drizzle, greenery around us, and the interesting conversations. I clicked the above picture on that walk!
  • A long weekend when I relaxed, and did not pressure myself to get work done. I slept in late all three mornings, ate a lot of chocolate and ice-cream, and watched too many movies! I had been feeling burnt out for the last few weeks, to the extent that I didn’t even feel like blogging or reading or doing anything. On one evening last week, I literally wanted to curl up into a ball and lie down on the sunny spot on my living room carpet. I was also trying really hard to plan a vacation for the last long weekend of the Summer, but nothing worked out. So, frustrated with being very unproductive and exhausted last week, I decided to take a ‘staycation’ this weekend. I feel better now, and I’m hoping to be able to sustain this feeling through September!

So how was your weekend? Do you have any special plans for September? Would you like to join me in this challenge?

This entry was posted in Days of Gratitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Days of Gratitude – Sep 1

  1. Gratitude challenge sounds great…only problem is I can’t commit to a daily challenge at the moment with all that is going on in life.It is a good way though to take stock of the little things in life. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to following you.

    Oh and staycations can be awesome! πŸ™‚

    • kinmin says:

      Yeah sanch, it has been interesting so far! I’m hoping to become more mindful and learn to live in the moment by the end of this! πŸ™‚
      This was my first staycation ever, and was a lot of fun actually! πŸ™‚

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

