A home filled with memories!

image

This is home right now – half packed, pretty cluttered, and pulling at my heartstrings. I wanted to move to a bigger apartment, I was bored of this place and needed a change and I had been thinking about it for more than a year. I signed the lease for the new apartment in January, so it’s no surprise or shock that I’m moving. Yet I am feeling a wee bit sad right now. This was home since the last three years, and it was the perfect size when I moved in – big enough so I had enough space, and cozy enough so that I didn’t feel lonely living by myself. I have so many memories in this apartment… bonding with close friends over wine, watching movies late into the night, learning to enjoy my company and getting comfortable with being alone, sharing secrets and fears with friends, starting to cook and eat healthy and exercise, dealing with frustrations and learning to accept the unfairness in life, and sometimes learning to agree to disagree and be OK after huge fights…  It almost seems like the end of an era (reminds you of Friends?). The apartment I’m moving into is only half a block away, and there’s going to be no major change in life. It’s also bigger, so I’ll have more space. While I’m excited about the change, I’m also a bit scared that I’ll be lonelier there and it will be hard to settle in. I think it’s important to remind myself that I made the effort to make this place home, and to build memories here, and I can continue to do that wherever I go! It’s interesting how much change unnerves us, even though change is the only constant in life.

This was posted as a part of the July 2014 photo a day challenge, and today’s prompt is home.

This entry was posted in LIFE, Photo challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A home filled with memories!

  1. Moving is always hard. Coincidentally, my housemate of a year just moved her final stuff out today and she was saying how weird it feels as this has been home. I’m going to miss her too because the memories we shared in this space were positive. I’m sure your new chapter will be just as incredible…and yes, you will fill it with memories and will make the house a home.

    • kinmin says:

      Thanks for the positive vibes Sanch! I’m not used to living with housemates anymore, but I’m sure it would be tougher for you to see her go!

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

