Where there’s a will, there’s a way!

So I started writing this post in the end of March but just didn’t get around to finishing it. And now I’m finishing this on my flight to San Diego! The month of March is over which also means that a quarter of 2014 is over. In some ways, this year has been much better for me.

It feels like we stepped into 2014 just a few days ago and I started the January blogathon! Since I made new year resolutions after a long time, I tried harder to stick to them and worked to bring the changes I want to see in my life.

One of my new year resolutions was to eat healthy and lose weight. And I want to record this here as a reminder for times when I’m losing hope of accomplishing something. I have polycystic ovary syndrome which is a metabolic and hormonal disorder. What it essentially means is that I have irregular periods and insulin resistance , I tend to gain more weight, and stress makes all these things worse. Also these factors feedback into each other and worsen the condition making it much harder for me to lose weight. What this also means is that it’s very important for me to be on the lower side of BMI, otherwise I have a much higher risk for diabetes, cardiovascular disease, etc. I have been thinking of losing weight for almost 5-6 years and I’ve always had excuses because of my busy schedule, stress, and PCOS.

But this year has been different because I decided that I have to change these patterns. I have been exercising two to three days a week, and been eating healthy home cooked food for most meals. I only eat out and drink once a week now. I’m not sure how much I weighed in the beginning of this year, but I started weighing myself every morning in the middle of January. I weighed 121 pounds then, and I now weigh 111 pounds. I’m so happy that I have lost 10 lbs in 3 months. I’m proud of myself for staying committed to my goal despite the crazy work schedule. And most importantly, I’ve learnt from this that if I put my heart and mind to something, I can do it! Yes, it may not be easy and I may need to put more effort into things than other people, but this feeling of accomplishment is totally worth the hard work.

I feel more self confident and motivated now. I fit into so many older clothes that I had and it makes me happy! I want to lose another 10 lbs in the next 3 months and I feel more confident that I’ll be able to do it. This also gives me the courage to take up other goals that I thought I may not have the courage to fulfill.

And this time, instead of posting a song, I will post a link to my favorite Zumba video! I tried out Zumba to Latin, Bollywood, and Persian music and this is one of my favorites! If you try it, let me know how you find it!

This entry was posted in change, Happiness!, LIFE and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where there’s a will, there’s a way!

  1. B. M. says:

    Hey.. where you gone .. no post for long .. I came back and you gone πŸ™‚

    and me try Zumba , the floor will have a hard time for sure … πŸ™‚

  2. kinmin says:

    Welcome back Bikram! πŸ™‚ I was traveling, and that’s why didn’t post for so long!
    Haha I’m sure the floor will be fine, and you’ll enjoy the workout! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: My favorite dress! | Sunshine and Rainbows!

  4. Pingback: I’m back! | Sunshine and Rainbows!

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

