C’est la vie…

This post is a rant.. And kinda depressing.. so read it at your own risk..

It’s one of those days.. I just feel crappy.. Is it because I’ve been over-worked and exhausted and overwhelmed and stressed.. I don’t know.. Since February, things have been crazy busy in lab.. I’ve routinely had 10 or 12 hour days and have been working pretty much all weekends.. And I’ve been trying to eat healthy, so been cooking at home which is a lot of work as well.. March is going to be like this as well..

Today also, I woke up, cooked and decided to clean the apartment since it was dirty way beyond my tolerance levels, and then went to lab.. From there, AB picked me up and we went out for dinner with some of his friends.. When I was there, I started feeling like I just wanted to get out of there.. I don’t know if it was because I wasn’t having fun with the people we were hanging out with.. or because seeing the newly engaged couple with all the love they shared made me sad.. or because I feel sad about how mine and AB’s relationship is so dead.. Throughout the evening, we barely spoke to each other.. And it was kinda awkward.. We were a group of 5 people and I was sitting in the middle of AB and one of his close friends, T. Almost every few minutes, he would address her and say something.. And trust me, I’m not jealous.. I know that they are great friends and get along really well.. And T is in a long term relationship as well.. And I would be fine, maybe even happy for AB, even if they were to get together because they have a lot in common and seem to have fun together .. But what upset me was the stark contrast to how I and AB barely talk now..  And then I went to the restroom and I just wanted to cry.. I feel like I’m stuck in a loveless marriage when we’re not even married.. I don’t understand that how does he not see it.. I just wanted to get out of there and tell him that this is over.. But I know that he is defending his PhD thesis in a month, and I shouldn’t do this to him right now.. And then I wonder.. would he do the same for me? Does he still care? And then I’m going to India the day after his defense.. And 10 days after I come back from India, his parents are coming here.. So I don’t know when to do it? I know it’s going to be hard..What makes it harder is the fact that I know that he’s a great guy but I also know that things are not working out..

Everyday, I see signs of how we’re not right for each other.. Casually, I joke to him that yeah, you will realize this or that when I’m not in your life anymore.. I say this stuff so that when we breakup, it doesn’t come as a shock to him.. The other day, he said to me, “Stop threatening me. If you’re so unhappy, just leave.” Why don’t I do that? Why doesn’t he see all that I see? I feel sad when I see that he barely needs me in his life..  Yet he doesn’t see it..

I feel so lonely some days.. I barely have any friends in Pittsburgh.. I did have 2 close friends, but they have both moved out.. And I don’t seem to get along with most people I meet.. I mean I’m OK on the surface but I’m not someone who likes to indulge in small talk or gossip about other people.. And then most of my ideas (my stands on feminism, social equality, stereotypes, climate change, etc.) are such a stark contrast to the supposed American culture.. I sometimes feel like such a misfit.. And I can’t even relate to friends or family back in India anymore.. I feel like I don’t belong anywhere.. be it in India or in US.. I’m just so conflicted with everything and don’t know where to go.. Days like these, I just wish the world would just somehow end.. that I don’t want to live this life anymore.. And I’ve been crying non-stop since I came home.. C’est la vie…

Song on my mind -Silli Hawa Chhoo Gai (It’s an old song , the lyrics are by Gulzaar, I don’t know the singer)

 

This entry was posted in LIFE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to C’est la vie…

  1. Tatsat says:

    I don’t know your history but, if this is how things are, why spoil two lives? Of course, this is my opinion and I am mostly wrong about people. But the thing is, any relationship that we made on our own ( excluding parents and siblings ) must push me forward. So…

    • kinmin says:

      Do you mean, why get married and spoil both our lives? Yeah, I don’t want to do that.. in my mind, I’m sure about that.. But somehow, haven’t been able to break up either..

      • Tatsat says:

        Ahh… I understand the trepidation. But trust me. It IS the right thing to do.

        As for the timing, how about the day after he defends his thesis. Not before that, of course.

  2. Oh that sucks Kinmin…and it’s such a reflection of my relationship with the Ex. I went through those moments of feeling lonely even when in company…and I remember thinking of breaking up months before I finally gathered the courage to bring it up. There never is a ‘right’ time unfortunately but eventually it must be done. I guess because you guys have been together for a while, it makes sense to wait till he has defended his thesis but at the end of the day, your happiness is paramount. And it’s not selfish to want to be happy. The worst kind of loneliness is when you are around others and feel lonely.

    As for not gelling with people on certain views and values, I understand that…it is hard! Here’s an idea — once you are done with your PhD, move Down Under! 🙂

    I know that doesn’t help…but I want to say, I’m here to listen. *Hugs*

  3. Titaxy says:

    Hugs, Kinmin.I can understand how hard the situation must be. But I would say, put yourself first at some point. If you keep waiting for the right time, it may never come. And putting yourself through so much pain just waiting for that “right” moment may not be worth it.
    I hope the work loads goes down a bit and you get some time to relax and concentrate on some relaxing activity. How about a weekend out somewhere? Hugs. Take care.

    • kinmin says:

      Thanks Titaxy for the hugs! I hear what you’re saying, but I think what the post doesn’t reflect is that I’m scared of making this decision as well.. Currently, I’m in my comfort zone, and sadly, it’s convenient to be in the relationship.. I hate myself for saying this but I think this is the truth.. And to actually break up will require a lot of courage to step into the unknown.. Hoping to get there soon!
      Work load will be like this only in March, but I’m traveling in April.. so that will be a great break! 🙂

  4. Mi says:

    Aww… I totally understand what you are going through.. I went through the same thing. The only difference is, you seem to be the brave one here. Don’t feel alone, I am there, if you wanna talk It will get better. Life is all about making choices, and eventually things get better

    • kinmin says:

      Thanks Mi.. I only sound brave when I talk about these things.. I wish I actually had the courage to take these decisions and live with them.. Well we’ll see how things turn out..

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

