Was she too late…?

She smiled as she sipped her coffee and looked at the book cover.

When she was a 10 year old girl, she had wondered if she was too late in approaching the new girl in the school who ate lunch alone…

As a 20 year old woman, she speculated if she was too late in expressing her feelings for her secret crush…

When she had been working as a banker for 3 years at 25, she had wondered if she was too late in deciding to switch careers to pursue her dream to become a psychologist…

At 30, she had been scared by the idea that maybe she was too late in her quest for love….

On her 40th birthday, she had wondered if she was too late in trying to have a baby she wasn’t ready for until now…

When her husband turned 50, they had wondered if he was too late in deciding to go back to school and embark on a new career path…

When her long-lost best friend turned 60 and was finally ready to move on, they wondered if she was too late in deciding to walk out of an abusive marriage…

On her 70th birthday, she had wondered if she was too late in chronicling the journey of her life…

And here she was, on her 75th birthday, releasing a book about her life and it was aptly titled ‘It’s never too late…”. She had agonized over the right way to live life over the years and finally learnt to fight her fears and experiment with whatever her heart wanted. Things didn’t always turn out the way she had expected, but she smiled with contentment as she realized that she had given life her best shot.

**This is inspired by the Write Tribe prompt for this Wednesday – S/He was too late.

** Song on my mind – Lag Jaa Gale by Lata Mangeshkar

This entry was posted in Fiction, LIFE, Write Tribe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Was she too late…?

  1. elizaww says:

    Hello. I’ve been following your blog for a while and I really enjoy it, so I’ve nominated you for The Liebster Award, an award given to new blogs with less than 200 readers to help spread the word and to encourage you to keep on blogging.

    You can read all about it at http://elizaworner.com/2014/02/25/the-liebster-award/

  2. I love it!!! It’s never too late to do something in your life…never! Beautifully written Kinmin!

  3. Mi says:

    wow… this was such a nice post. I realise I haven’t made very good decisions either. Instead of having regrets and “too-lates” I wish I make the best of my life too.. πŸ™‚
    It’s definitely never to late to do something in life, like PB says! πŸ™‚

  4. Titaxy says:

    this is such a wonderful post. at a few points, i could relate to what she was going through. i hope i realize soon that it isn’t too late, though. don’t want to wait as long as she did.

    • kinmin says:

      Thanks Titaxy! Yes, we all go through life with so many difficult ‘is it too late’ moments and it takes courage to face our fears and take a decision! Wishing you the courage to take the decisions that make you happy! πŸ™‚

  5. Tatsat says:

    How late is too late, I wonder. I know that is not what the post is about but since you are the author and blog gives us the opportunity to peek into the thought process of the author herself- I believe I must pitch the question.

    Blog challenge is one fine way to stimulate writing, or so I have been told. Don’t know about the rest, but I think this is a fabulous piece!

    • kinmin says:

      I love your comment, thank you!
      Since writing this post, I had been thinking about this as well and then your and Titaxy’s comment has brought it up again.. I think I’m going to write another post on this! How late is too late!

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

