Of Ships and Seas!

IMG_1537“A Ship is safe in the harbor, but that’s not what ships are for.” – William Shedd

This is a picture I took at the Miami bay harbor. There were several boats and ships docked there – some small motorboats, a few cruise ships, some private yachts, and one merchant cargo ship. For some reason, of all the boats and ships that were docked there, I liked this one the most. The massive sails held me spellbound and stirred something inside me.

Now, I should tell you that I don’t have a good imagination. Even when I read a book, I usually focus on the story and the people and their emotions, not on the descriptive details of the scene. So while some people love specific authors for bringing the ‘scene alive in their imagination’, I can’t relate much to that. Anyway, coming back to this, looking at this ship was a different experience for me. The beautiful ship with its complex arrangement of ropes and sails brought to life several tales about ships and sailors and the ferocity of storms in the sea!

The enormity of the ship and the sea humbled me, it reminded me of how trivial we are in the bigger scheme of things.. At the same time, the ship was also a reminder to strive to achieve my dreams and aspirations despite the risks! The ship, for me, is also a symbol of new journeys and mysterious adventures in life!

This is Post 14 in Blogathon – Jan 2014.
You can read my other posts here.

This entry was posted in Blogathon Challenge - Jan 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of Ships and Seas!

  1. TTS says:

    That first line totally caught my attention! And so did the last bit of your post.
    Cheers!

  2. kinmin says:

    Thanks TTS and welcome here! 🙂 Well we both relate to the most important ideas in the post then!! 🙂

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

