Chana-veggie chaat – I can cook too! :)

When I took up this blogathon challenge, I really didn’t think I would be posting anything about cooking.. First of all, I kinda hate cooking.. The only incentive that I normally have to cook is that I will have food for the week and won’t have to worry about what I’m going to eat for the next meal. Secondly, I make very basic food – daal, some veg curry, and quinoa with veggies. I make large amounts to last through the week. I also eat out for 4-5 meals in a week, so that breaks the monotony!

But as I’m trying to eat healthy now and lose weight, and I get bored of eating the same things, I tried to make something new and it turned out quite decent. 🙂 So here’s the recipe (modified version of the recipe I got from Sis 1 !)

Black chana (Bengal gram) chat with veggies

1. Take 1 bowl of chana and add 5 bowls of water, 1 black cardamom, 3-4 black pepper, 1-2 cloves, and a little salt to it.

  • Pressure cook on high flame for ~40 mins. Then turn down the flame and cook for ~15 mins.
  • After the steam is released, open the pressure cooker and check that the chana is fully cooked. (easiest way to do that is to eat it)
  • You can also soak chana overnight and it will cook faster but I didn’t do that because I can’t rely on myself to actually feel like cooking next day! 😉

2. While Chana is cooking, you can cook the veggies on the side:

  • Chop 1 big onion, 1.5-2 tomatoes.
  • Saute onion and tomatoes with a little ghee or oil. You can also add cumin (zeera) before onion.
  • Add spices that you like – I added chaat masala, kitchen king powder, some oregano herbs, some dhaniya powder, and salt.
  • Meanwhile, chop any other veggies you would like to add – I used cucumber, celery, and red pepper since that’s all I had at home. If possible, chop them finely.

3. Final Steps:

  • Once the chana is cooked, drain the water into a separate bowl.
  • Add the boiled chana and the chopped veggies to the pan with the sauteed onion tomato mix.
  • Mix well, turn off the flame, and cover with a lid. Let it sit for a while.
  • Add a little tamarind or mint chutney or chilly sauce before eating! 🙂

I thought this was kinda easy to make, delicious in taste (even satisfies my craving for chaat because of the chutneys), and packed with nutrients. While chana has lots of protein, iron and fiber, and other nutrients; the veggies add vitamins and fiber. And it is quite filling!

I also like the leftover water that was used for cooking chana – I added lemon to it and drank it. It tasted pretty decent – almost like soup!

If you make it, let me know how it turns out! 🙂

IMG_20140112_130315_566

This is Post 13 in Blogathon – Jan 2014.
You can read my other posts here.

This entry was posted in Blogathon Challenge - Jan 2014 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

