I wanna go home

It’s that time of the year
When I wanna go home…
Home, to me, means
love and care shared with mom,
and special moments with sisters…
Home means cherishing old memories with friends,
and revisiting favorite places with loved ones…

It’s that time of the year
When I wanna go home…
But home, to me, also means restrictions,
and fights and heartache…
Home also means insults and repression,
and struggling with internal battles…

It’s that time of the year
When I wanna go home…
I wish it was easier to visit home
I wish the battles were easier to fight
and that there weren’t as many battles…

It’s that time of the year
When I wanna go home…
I do wanna go home
to a home filled with love and peace
where there’s freedom and space
and acceptance and respect…

Song on my mind – Sayonee by Junoon (beautiful Sufi music)

Another Sufi song – Jugni by Alif Allah (Coke studio version)

Aside | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I wanna go home

  1. Pingback: Fighting my internal resistance | Sunshine and Rainbows!

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

