Towards positivity…

“Instead of putting others down, try improving yourself instead. The only person you have a right to compete with is you. In the meantime, treat others how you’d like to be treated. One trait that some of the best (communicators) share is empathy. A couple of kind words can not only make a person’s day, but earn you a friend and supporter for life.
For the rest of the week, whenever you see someone you want to judge negatively, pay them a compliment instead. See what happens.”
— Neil Strauss

I would like to try and implement this in my life! ๐Ÿ™‚

Life is on auto-pilot mode these days, yet there’s a lot of restlessness.. Don’t feel like posting anything to FB these days – yes that’s a big change in my life! ๐Ÿ˜› In fact, I deactivated my account and stayed off for more than a week but got back on for work etc. And, I think I have reduced the time I spend on FB since then! Yay!

The latest song I’m addicted to is from Yeh Jawani hai Deewani (the new movie that just came out)

I have realized that I always tend to like the more serious songs in movies.. After watching this movie, AB asked me if I wanted to go back to India after watching this (which is how I feel when I watch a lot of movies) but I didn’t feel that way this time! One of the reasons could be that a lot of times the movies after which I get emotional are where people go back and make a difference.. Another thing is that this time when I stayed at home in India for longer, I realized that I don’t fit in anymore.. I think a big illusion I had was that my family is quite liberal – it is in some cases, but not so much in a lot of things and I don’t think I want to deal with all that.. Since I’ve been living alone for almost 8 years now, 4 out which have been in the US, I just love my freedom and independence and I don’t think I can ‘adjust’ to a lot of things in India now… But I still crave for good friends and good company! It still feels lonely here quite often.. I also feel that the older we grow, the harder it is to make friends..

A grad student from my program had joined my lab last year, lets call her K. She is super-sweet and we got along really well, and I was so happy that she joined our lab because she became my first real friend in the lab! Sadly, she transferred to another school and left last month because of personal reasons.. I miss her so much! But I told her – I’m so glad that I met her and became friends with her. Until now, I never thought that I could connect so well to an American because we grew up in different cultures.. But I think it’s all about finding like-minded people! ๐Ÿ™‚ So yes, there is still hope in the world!

P.S. Sorry, the title is kind of random (so is the post eh!), but couldn’t think of anything else that makes sense for this post!

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

