Shaadi Bonanza!! (Singing Saturday – 10)

Hey everyone, I hope you guys had a great week.. Mine was usual, just trying to study for comps.. Anyway, I don’t think I have told you that I absolutely love happy wedding songs.. the bollywood songs with all the glitz and glamor!! πŸ˜› There are 3 new songs that came out in the last one year that I liked and listen to quite often! The first is Rolla pae gaya from Patiala House, I like the lyrics, the chemistry between Anushka Sharma and Akshay Kumar, and I am in love with her clothes in this song! πŸ™‚ The second is Aiven Aiven lut gaya from Band Bajaa Baraat- this is a fun song and I liked this movie a lot! The song is a bit ‘chichhora’ in typical Delhi language, but I like the beats and the entire idea! The third is Gal Mithi Mithi Bol from Aisha – this is a nice song, I like the lyrics, the dance sequence, the beats, and Abhay Deol, but this movie was a torture. Sonam Kapoor was horrible in this movie and I hated it! Anyway, I hope you like these songs! Enjoy!! πŸ™‚

When you saw the videos for these songs, did you notice the difference in these songs? While the first two are all bright and colorful, the third one has minimal colors. While Gal mithi mithi bol is shot in an elite Delhi wedding, aiven aiven lut gaya is totally opposite – a low budget jhatak matak shaadi.. But I like rolla pae gaya the best for the music, the clothes, etc! By the way, what kind of wedding did you have? Or want to have?

When I was a teenager and thought of marriage, I always wanted a grand Punjabi traditional wedding.. But now, I am not that interested in that.. I know everyone has their own opinion and dreams, but I think its reckless to spend so much money onΒ  a single night. And now that I understand the meaning ofΒ  traditions in Hindu weddings, I don’t really like it. Things like ‘kanya-daan’, ‘saat vachan’, ‘vidaai’, etc are all so biased.. Its amazing how much your attitude changes when you understand andΒ  think about all these traditions.. I will write another post about why I think these traditions are biased sometime later! Anyway, I think I would want to have a registered marriage during the day, followed by a small reception where the couple exchanges vows they write on their own! Sometimes, I still feel that I would still long for the grand Indian wedding, but then you have to sacrifice certain wishes to stand by your principles. And for me, this situation falls into that category! Now a million dollar question is how my family, the guy, and his family would feel about all this! We’ll see when we get there! πŸ™‚

By the way, what do you think about all this?

This entry was posted in marriage, memories, movies, Singing Saturdays. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shaadi Bonanza!! (Singing Saturday – 10)

  1. Tanya says:

    If all listened to me, I would have a marriage where I would have bought out the pundit to finish everything in 10 minutes, tops in daytime. Then, a small reception in evening, basically a group dinner with very selected friends and that’s all.

    In traditional Indian marriages, I find the couples suffering the most on their supposedly best day. It’s as if everybody is mocking them and jealous of them being happy. Especially the bride has to go through a lot 😐

  2. Free Spirit says:

    Hmm.. I’m reminded of a dialogue from a Chetan Bhagat book, where the groom asks his futre FIL during the wedding ‘at what point of time would the marriage become irreversible’ or something like that, ‘cos he’s so stressed with so many traditions.. πŸ™‚

    It’s like that over here, I wonder if the groom and the bride even enjoy their wedding..

  3. sm says:

    well written post
    nice songs

  4. kinmin says:

    Hi Free Spirit, welcome here! πŸ™‚
    I think this is from Two States right – I read the book and liked it, it was quite funny! And yeah all the traditions just drive you crazy sometimes.. At their respective weddings, both my sisters were so annoyed by all the ‘dheere chalo’ (walk slowly), ‘sharmao’ (blush for the camera), etc! And then all the relatives have an opinion about how things should be.. its crazy! I don’t think the couple or even their immediate family gets to enjoy the wedding!

  5. Bikram says:

    Lovely songs .. I have heard the rola pai gaya and gal mithi mithi bol a couple of times , i ma not into hindi music .. well I am but dont get time to keep up .. so i have to rely on others to send me the songs etc which i can burn on a cd and listen to while driving .. yeah i know I am lazy πŸ™‚

    Marriage I would get married in a regsitery office, then next day hold a party the expenses shared by both the families .. Thats it .. πŸ™‚ we spend way too much money of indian weddings ..

    • kinmin says:

      Haha, I like to listen to a few new songs.. will recommend the good ones to you! πŸ™‚
      I agree, we spend money like crazy on weddings, but then a lot of people argue that it’s supposed to be the most memorable day of your life, so why not! I don’t agree with that, but sometimes, its hard to convince to people!

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

