500!

The video says think before you spend! My question is, how many of us ‘CAN’ actually do that? And for how long?

Whenever I see something like this, I feel bad. I feel the urge to do something, to make a difference! But the question is, for how long would I remember it? And not just remember it, how can I make a difference? I believe in the power of one, and I think that if I, as an individual, try to work towards a change, I can make a difference. But sometimes is it really possible? Yes I have spent numerous 500s over frivolous things, and I don’t think its possible for me to stop. But what I can do is allocate a portion out of my monthly income and support the education of an underprivileged child with that.

But at the same time, how many people think like this? I know a lot of people who would watch this video and think, this is how the world is. I cannot help it. There are so many people who earn more than I do, and own so many things I cannot afford to. I cannot figure out whether it is correct to think like this. I envision an ideal world. A world where every affluent person takes out a portion of their income and contributes it to the education of underprivileged children. But who can define the term ‘affluent’? A middle class person may have a lot of benefits, but he considers himself poor as compared to other rich people. The problem is the greed for ‘more’. I think we all need to become a little more compassionate in order to help people. I think this would be so much better than making stupid reservations in educational institutions on the basis of castes. I think there is a need for today’s generation to realize the importance of educating the masses. Yes, the bureaucracy is corrupt. But can you help it? The answer is no. But you can make a difference in one child’s life, by giving the gift of education.

This entry was posted in change, hope, LIFE, society. Bookmark the permalink.

Say what you feel.. I would love to hear your opinion!

